As a driver in Wisconsin, it is your duty to ensure you understand all road laws. This becomes even more important when you become a parent or when you are transporting a child in your vehicle. The state has specific laws regarding child safety seats and other restraints that you must follow. You could face serious penalties if you are pulled over and a child in your vehicle is not properly restrained.
The Wisconsin Department of Transportation explains any child under the age of eight who is not taller than 4 feet 9 inches or who does not weigh more than 80 pounds must be in an approved safety seat. The requirements for the type of seat change as the child gets older and gains weight.
Older children, ages four to eight who weigh between 40 and 80 pounds can use a booster seat. These children may also sit in a child seat that is approved for their weight. There is also a height cut off for this age group. If a child reaches 4 feet 9 inches, then a safety seat is not required.
The next groups are those children under age four. Those who are between age one and three need to be in a car seat. It can be forward-facing if the child is at least 20 pounds. Any child under 20 pounds must follow the guidelines for children under one-year-old and be in a rear-facing car seat.
All seats need to match the child’s weight because manufacturers use weight to gauge effectiveness. In addition, all children in a safety seat must ride in the back seat of your vehicle. This information is for education and is not legal advice.